Lazybean's EK Hatch - Saving a Civic :)

lazybean

I don't think I have properly introduced myself on this forum although I have been here a while and have lurked even longer.

So jumping straight in;

I had been saving up for a civic for probably 8 months, I couldnt afford a nine at the time, especially on insurance. So I ended up buying a B18C4 swapped EK3 with 80k on the chasis and 70k on the engine for £1800.

At this point I was very green and probably paid to much for a car that was rough around the edges to say the least.

This is what she looked like when I got her home.

2012+-+66

Notice the state of the bonnet
2012+-+14

After looking around the car I realised I had a lot of work cut out, and would have to learn as I went. The first thing I did was strip the interior

2012+-+4

2012+-+45

2012+-+52

2012+-+56

So I stripped all the paint and grinded all the surface rust I could

2012+-+77

Primed it, although as you can see I didnt bother doing the whole of the back and in hind sight this was a bad move. I wanted to keep the rear interior because it was going to be a daily drive and I wanted the speakers.
Maybe not to everyones taste, and to be honest I would do it differently If I was to do it again.

Primed

2012%2B-%2B39

Painted with BW sparkling Graphite to match the car. Doesnt look very good in this photo

2012+-+35

Purchased an EK9 carpet
2012+-+58

And door cards

2012+-+57

Installed the interior along with a carbon fuel pump cover (a present from the missus)

IMAG0496.jpg

IMAG0495.jpg

Cleaned up the rear speakers and installed them back in

IMAG0477.jpg

And thats how the interior stands for now, lacking seats

2012+-+1

So at this point I started to get more seroius with the car. I was more focused towards the handling and braking ability of this car and not overly fussed with power and so this lead to some of the following decisions. I wanted a 5 lug setup, not only because the more lugs you have the more baller you are :p