Camber Kits on OEM EK9 Suspension?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rvm

admin
Staff member
Car(s)
EK9/Civic
Well i'm a newbie in suspension setups / camber kits etc.. Does having a camber kit on a stock ek9 civic type r suspension makes any difference ? :nerv:

Thanks for your help :clap:

only if you need to adjust your camber :nice:

For example I want to go to the track, and I want to know if I adjust the camber running a stock ek9 civic suspension, does it makes any difference at all? :nerv:

more camber generally does increase handling, but it also increases tire wear, i would get stickier tires before i got a camber kit since your suspension is stock.

but if you lower the car and do some other suspension mods then your camber may be all wrong so then you get a camber kit to set it up properly so its even on both sides and you have the amount of camber you want.

ek9 oem setup is amazing but lots more to be had, dialing more camber in will improve handling and you will notice it

main cause of tyre wear is incorrect toe and not camber (i used to think same thing)

RVM you opened a real can of worms with this one!

I recall you said you already have very sticky bridgstone tires right? So the grippy tire requirement is out out of the way. You also have a dual duty (track & street) car right now, so you don't want to set your car to track settings always or street settings all the time, (unless you dont do much street driving)
The outer suspension goes into compression (or bump) during cornering and due to body roll along with the suspension geometry the the outside tire will gain positive camber. When the outside wheels gain positive camber there is more tire wear and less cornering force due to a lesser contact patch. The less body roll you have the less posive camber you have, so stiffer springs will help (bigger anti-roll bars help but the ek9 already has large ones).