LSD question (I think)

JayEm

Okay first off I apologise if this is in the wrong place or if this question has been asked before and what not lol!

I'm a complete noob when it comes to engines and all that stuff lol I do the outside, not the inside.

Anyway, recently had the 9 up on a ramp having some new tyres put on the front and the guy found that when he rotated one wheel the other side stayed still. He wasn't sure if it was supposed to do that and mentioned something about the LSD. So just thought I'd ask on here as you all seem so nice and hopefully wont call me a fanny for not knowing about engines lol

Thank you in advance!

See., My EK4 SiR had the optional viscous LSD (Less hardcore than the helical found in the Type R's), And on a ramp, moving one wheel would make the other turn in the optional direction. Great, it proved it had an LSD locking both wheels.

However, My DC2 Type R with LSD doesn't do this, but it definitely drives like it has a pretty snappy LSD installed, do they need some torque sent through them before you would see this effect?

I too would like some light shed on this topic.

Last edited:
It is my understanding that a Viscous LSD only works when lots of power is put in one side and it locks the diff so when it is on a ramp with both wheels in the air it the wheels will turn in different directions as it is still acting like a standard diff.

I THINK that the diff in the type R will lock one wheel but let the other turn then turn the gear box but I am not 100% sure on this as I have not had a huge amount of experience or research into these.

My LSD spins both wheels the same direction, but then I have a plate LSD.
Helical diffs don't work when one wheel is in the air. This may be why.
Easiest way to check it is to go out to a round about or a half decent corner and plant 2nd gear.

Easiest way to check it is to go out to a round about or a half decent corner and plant 2nd gear.

Disclaimer : Ensure conditions are dry :nerv:.